top of page

Dialogues from the unwritten book #1

- I've always thought that you and I and all human beings are insignificant. Or at least that's what I've tried to convince myself that I believe. We will die soon, we will be remembered by our loved ones for a while, but time will pass, and eventually our memory too will die. Everything we did, everything we thought, wrote, created, discovered will vanish at some point or another in history’s timeline.


- Indeed. There was a time without us before and there will be a time without us after, it is inevitable.


- Contrary to many people, this fact is relieving for me. I feel a sort of comfort when I think of our insignificance because it means that we can do whatever we want, we can live however we want, we can be whoever we want, knowing that our life will have no real ever lasting impact on humanity. We gain freedom by refusing to give meaning to the meaningless.

Although I am conscious of this insignificance, I have something inside me that refuses to be standard. You see, I don't want to stick to the status quo, I don’t want to be one among the heap, I refuse to fully accept my place as an indifferent human being that will be forgotten once dead. I want it all, I want to do the best, have the best, be the best. I crave recognition, entitlement, and exceptionality. Except, aren’t all those concepts mere illusions? That exist only to delude us into believing we can make a difference in the world so that we blindly follow human conventions? Do I really want what I’ve mentioned I want, or is it merely what I feel obligated to pursue in order to fulfill people’s expectations?


- So, what you are saying is that you wanting to be significant, recognized, known is not what you actually want because you understand that life in itself is meaningless, and so such things do not exist. You are therefore convinced that you wanting these things are an act of cultural conditioning, of getting impregnated with social beliefs, norms, expectations?


- Exactly. You see Albert, I’ve always thought I’ve known what I want, but lately, I don’t think I know anything at all. Am I starting to live on the surface of life, deeply rooted in a material, narcissistic world, where everyone restlessly pursues entitlement, supremacy, power, with the erroneous assumption that it is this that will grant the happiness that all so desperately seek? What ought I do if I accomplish what I’ve spent my entire life working on and realize it was not really what I wanted, that I got so embedded into what people think is important that I forgot who I wanted to be and what was important for me?

What if I throw it all away? Live on my own terms, let go of that feeling of wanting everyone's approval. Be everything people don’t expect me to be. Lose myself inside the irrelevance of the world.


- The question changes now friend. Can a being who is social by nature, live a happy life without the acceptance of its own society? Perhaps expectations, human conventions, as you say, are necessary because they help us give life a meaning, a false, imaginary "meaning", but one that is crucial for our survival.


//



- Siempre he pensado que tú, yo y todos los seres humanos somos insignificantes. O al menos eso es lo que he intentado convencerme de que creo. Moriremos pronto, nuestra memoria vivirá por un momento en nuestros seres queridos, pero el tiempo pasará y, finalmente, la memoria de nosotros morirá de igual manera. Todo lo que hicimos, todo lo que pensamos, escribimos, creamos y descubrimos desaparecerá en algún momento u otro en la cronología de la historia.

- En efecto. Hubo un tiempo sin nosotros antes y habrá un tiempo sin nosotros después, es inevitable.

- A diferencia de mucha gente, este hecho me alivia. Siento una especie de consuelo cuando pienso en nuestra insignificancia porque esto quiere decir que podemos hacer lo que queramos, podemos vivir como queramos, podemos ser quienes queramos, sabiendo que nuestra vida no tendrá un impacto real y duradero en la humanidad. Ganamos libertad al negarnos darle sentido a lo que no tiene sentido.


Aunque soy consciente de esta insignificancia, tengo algo dentro de mí que se niega a ser estándar. Verás, no quiero estar dentro del status quo, no quiero ser uno más entre el montón, me niego a aceptar mi lugar como un ser humano indiferente que será olvidado una vez muerto. Lo quiero todo, quiero hacer lo mejor, tener lo mejor, ser el mejor. Anhelo el reconocimiento, la excelencia, el prestigio. Excepto, ¿no son todos esos conceptos meras ilusiones? ¿Que existen solo para engañarnos haciéndonos creer que podemos hacer una diferencia en el mundo para seguir ciegamente las convenciones humanas? ¿Realmente quiero lo que he mencionado que quiero, o es simplemente lo que me siento obligado a perseguir para cumplir con las expectativas de las personas?

- Entonces, lo que estás diciendo es que querer ser significativo, reconocido, no es lo que realmente quieres porque entiendes que la vida en sí misma no tiene sentido y, por lo tanto, esas cosas no existen. ¿Estás convencido, por tanto, de que querer estas cosas es un acto de condicionamiento cultural, te sientes tan impregnado de las expectativas sociales que son estas quien dirigen tu vida?

- Exactamente. Verás, Albert, siempre pensé que sabía lo que quería, pero últimamente, creo que no sé nada en lo absoluto. ¿Estaré comenzando a vivir en la superficie de la vida, profundamente arraigado en un mundo material y narcisista, donde todos persiguen sin descanso el prestigio, la supremacía, el poder, con la suposición errónea de que esto les otorgará la felicidad que todos buscan tan desesperadamente? ¿Qué hago si logro aquello por lo que me he pasado la vida trabajando y me doy cuenta en ese preciso momento que me sumergí tanto en lo que la gente cree importante que olvidé quién quería ser y qué era importante para mí?


¿Y si lo tiro todo? Y si decido vivir bajo mis propios términos, sin importar la aprobación. Ser todo lo que la gente no espera que sea. Perderme en la irrelevancia del mundo.

- La pregunta cambia ahora amigo. ¿Puede un ser que es social por naturaleza, vivir una vida feliz sin la aceptación de su sociedad? Quizás las expectativas, las convenciones humanas, como tú dices, son necesarias porque nos ayudan a darle un significado a la vida, un “significado” falso, imaginario, pero crucial para sobrevivir.

Kommentare


bottom of page